Tuesday, June 25, 2024

PM Shehbaz Sharif Added Jahangir Tareen in Newly-Formed Economic Advisory Council

Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif has announced the creation of a new Economic Advisory Council (EAC), which includes Jahangir Tareen, the former chairman of the IPP. The Finance Division released an official statement on Saturday, providing details about the establishment and the members of the Council.

According to the announcement, Prime Minister Shehbaz Sharif will lead the Economic Advisory Council. This Council has been created to provide economic guidance and advice to the Government of Pakistan, particularly to the Prime Minister. The EAC’s main goal is to offer expert economic insights and help shape policies that will address the country’s economic challenges and promote growth.

The Council is made up of several well-known and respected figures from various sectors. Along with Jahangir Tareen, the Council includes Saqib Shirazi, Shahzad Saleem, Musadik Zulqarnain, Dr. Ijaz Nabi, Asif Peer, Ziad Bashir, and Salman Ahmed. These members bring a wide range of expertise and experience, ensuring a diverse and comprehensive approach to economic planning.

The Economic Advisory Council is an independent and non-constitutional body. Its primary role is to provide strategic economic insights and recommendations to the government. This ensures that the government’s economic policies are well-informed and effective in addressing the needs of the country.

It is noteworthy that Jahangir Tareen had previously stepped back from politics following his defeat in the general elections on February 8. His inclusion in the EAC highlights the government’s recognition of his expertise and the value he can add to the Council’s discussions.

Related Articles

Latest Articles