Saturday, June 15, 2024

1 Visa 6 Countries! Gulf Countries Announces Unified Schengen Style Visa

In a landmark decision, six Gulf countries have unveiled plans to introduce a unified tourist visa, akin to the Schengen visa in Europe, allowing seamless travel across their borders without the need for multiple visas.

The Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) made this announcement during its 40th ministers’ meeting held in Oman, revealing that the unified “Grand Visa” will be operational by the end of 2024.

Under this initiative, tourists will have the freedom to visit Saudi Arabia, Kuwait, Qatar, the United Arab Emirates, Oman, and Bahrain with a single visa. This move aims to stimulate tourism growth and enhance cooperation among these nations.

Furthermore, the unified visa is expected to diversify revenue sources for these countries, reducing dependence on oil-related sectors. Tourists holding the Grand Visa will be permitted a minimum stay of 30 days across the participating Gulf nations.

Abdullah Al Saleh, undersecretary for the Ministry of Economy, highlighted the GCC’s unified approach, emphasizing shared market principles and coordinated policies. He underscored the benefits of unified regulations in the tourism sector, promoting efficiency and supporting economic expansion.

The introduction of the Grand Visa marks a significant step towards facilitating smoother travel experiences and fostering deeper regional integration among the Gulf countries.

Related Articles

Latest Articles