Friday, December 1, 2023

Cricket World Cup 2023 is First Men’s WC Since 1979 that will be Played Entirely in a Single Country in 44 Years

The 2023 ODI World Cup, which is set to happen in India, is making history. It’s the first time since it started in 1975 that the tournament will be held in just one country, unlike before when it was hosted by multiple nations. India had previously co-hosted the ODI World Cup in 1987, 1996, and 2011.

The decision to have the 2023 World Cup in a single country was made by the International Cricket Council (ICC) to save money and make it easier for cricket fans to attend. India was chosen because it has a huge and passionate cricket fan base and many world-class stadiums.

The 2023 World Cup is planned to run from October 5 to November 19 and will feature matches at ten different venues across India. The final match will be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

Here is a list of all the previous ODI World Cups and where they were hosted:

  • 1975: England
  • 1979: England
  • 1983: England and Wales
  • 1987: India and Pakistan
  • 1992: Australia and New Zealand
  • 1996: India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh
  • 1999: England and Wales
  • 2003: South Africa, Zimbabwe, and Kenya
  • 2007: West Indies
  • 2011: India, Sri Lanka, and Bangladesh
  • 2015: Australia and New Zealand
  • 2019: England and Wales

Related Articles

Latest Articles