Monday, March 4, 2024

No Leader from Peshawar Could Become KP CM in 40 Years

For the past 40 years, no politician from Peshawar has become the Chief Minister in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP). The last time this happened was nearly four decades ago when Arbab Jahangir Khan Khalil served as Chief Minister from 1985 to 1988. Peshawar has been without representation in the federal cabinet for the past ten years.

As the upcoming polls on February 8 approach, there are only a few experienced politicians from Peshawar contesting seats in the KP Assembly.

In the historical context, most chief ministers have emerged from Mardan division. Notably, Aftab Ahmad Khan Sherpao from Charsadda is the only politician in the last 40 years to have held the position of Chief Minister in the province twice. This sheds light on the political dynamics of Peshawar and its representation in key leadership roles.

Related Articles

Latest Articles