Saturday, July 20, 2024

PCB Announces Three-Year Men’s Central Contracts List

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has recently announced a significant development in the world of Pakistani cricket by securing a three-year central contract deal with its senior players. This deal is set to span from July 1, 2023, to June 30, 2026, and carries substantial implications for the national team and the broader cricketing landscape in Pakistan.

The central contract system is a vital component of professional cricket, as it formalizes the relationship between players and the cricket board. It outlines the terms and conditions under which senior players will represent their country, while also providing financial stability and incentives. These contracts are typically divided into different categories based on a player’s performance, experience, and role in the team.

This year, a momentous deal awaits 25 cricketers, which will include a portion of ICC revenue. In a fair and transparent selection process, the red-ball and white-ball national contracts have been merged to evaluate players based on their ability to win matches. This decision was proposed by the central contract committee to promote fairness and transparency in player selection.

The list of players is being divided into four categories, each with a different set of financial incentives and rewards based on their performance and status in the cricketing world. These categories are designed to reflect the players’ contributions to the team and their overall value to the cricketing community.

Category A: Babar Azam, Mohammad Rizwan and Shaheen Shah Afridi

Category B: Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah and Shadab Khan

Category C: Imad Wasim and Abdullah Shafique

Category D: Fahim Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Wasim Jr, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmad, Saud Shakeel, Shahnawaz Dahani, Shan Masood, Usama Mir and Zaman Khan

Related Articles

Latest Articles