Sunday, July 14, 2024

Three big blessings of the first 10 days of Hajj

The first 10 days of the Islamic month of Zil Hajj hold immense significance for Muslims worldwide. These days are filled with blessings and opportunities for spiritual growth.

While the pinnacle of these 10 days is the pilgrimage of Hajj itself, three major blessings extend beyond the physical act of Hajj. In this blog, we will explore these unique insights and proven blessings that encompass the first 10 days of Hajj.

1. The Day of Arafah

The ninth day of Zil Hajj, known as the Day of Arafah, is the most significant day of Hajj. It is a day of profound blessings and forgiveness. On this day, millions of pilgrims gather on the plains of Arafah, seeking Allah’s mercy, forgiveness, and guidance. 

The Prophet Muhammad (peace be upon him) said, “There is no day on which Allah frees people from the Fire more so than on the Day of Arafah” (Muslim). The act of standing in the vast plain of Arafah, supplicating and seeking Allah’s pleasure, is a tremendous opportunity for pilgrims to have their sins forgiven and their prayers answered. 

Even for those not performing Hajj, fasting on the Day of Arafah holds immense reward, as it expiates sins from the previous year and the year to come.

2. The Night of Muzdalifah

After spending the day in Arafah, pilgrims proceed to Muzdalifah, a place of spiritual significance. It is here that they gather and spend the night in prayer and supplication. 

The night of Muzdalifah holds great blessings and serves as a powerful reminder of unity, simplicity, and humility. It is a night of introspection and devotion, where pilgrims engage in prayers, recitation of the Quran, and remembrance of Allah. 

The significance of this night lies in the opportunity to detach oneself from worldly distractions, focus on the essence of faith, and deepen the connection with Allah.

3. The Rites of Tawaf and Sa’i

The acts of Tawaf and Sa’i are among the core rituals of Hajj that carry significant blessings and spiritual meaning. Tawaf involves circumambulating the Kaaba, the sacred house of Allah, seven times in a counterclockwise direction. 

It symbolizes unity, the devotion of the heart, and the recognition of Allah’s oneness. It is a humbling experience as pilgrims from diverse backgrounds come together, shoulder to shoulder, in a circle around the Kaaba, equal in their devotion and submission to Allah.

Sa’i, on the other hand, entails walking briskly back and forth between the hills of Safa and Marwa, retracing the footsteps of Hajar (Hagar), the wife of Prophet Ibrahim (Abraham).

This act commemorates Hajar’s search for water in the barren desert and represents perseverance and trust in Allah’s providence. It symbolizes the strength of faith, the importance of seeking, and the realization that Allah is the ultimate sustainer.

These acts of Tawaf and Sa’i are not exclusive to Hajj. Muslims who are not performing Hajj can also engage in these rituals by visiting the Sacred House of Allah in Makkah, known as the Masjid al-Haram.

By performing Tawaf and Sa’i, individuals can experience the spiritual significance and blessings associated with these acts, even outside the first 10 days of Hajj.


The first 10 days of Hajj are filled with immense blessings and spiritual opportunities. The Day of Arafah serves as a means of seeking forgiveness and mercy from Allah, while the night spent in Muzdalifah brings introspection and unity. 

The acts of Tawaf and Sa’i encompass the essence of devotion, unity, and trust in Allah’s guidance.

By reflecting upon and incorporating the essence of these blessings into our lives, even if we are not physically present at Hajj, we can benefit from the profound spirituality and transformative experiences of the first 10 days of Hajj.

May Allah bless us all and grant us the opportunity to partake in the blessings of Hajj.

Related Articles

Latest Articles