Thursday, November 30, 2023

2009 T20 World Cup-Winning Team to Celebrate Historic Victory in US

The victorious Pakistan team from the ICC T20 World Cup 2009 is gearing up to celebrate their historic win in the United States of America (USA). Former cricket stars, including captain Younis Khan, Shahid Afridi, Misbah Ul Haq, Shoaib Malik, Kamran Akmal, Abdul Razzaq, Umar Gul, and Saeed Ajmal, attended a ceremony to announce the upcoming celebration tour.

Starting on April 28, the celebration tour will include meet and greet sessions and an exhibition match in various US states. The goal of the tour is to promote cricket within the Pakistani community in the USA.

Reflecting on the 2009 victory, Younis Khan expressed a desire for more title wins during that period, saying, “I wish we had won more cups during that time. I believe we should have had more titles.” This celebration in America marks a unique event for the 2009 victory.

Shahid Afridi, a key player in the 2009 semi-final and final, had high hopes for the current team in the ICC World Cup 2023 but acknowledged their failure to perform at their best in favorable conditions. He also commented on the uncertainty surrounding Babar Azam’s captaincy and supported him to continue leading the side on the Australia tour.

Former captain Shoaib Malik addressed the national team’s disappointing campaign in the ICC World Cup 2023, clarifying that any criticism towards Babar Azam is not personal. He expressed confidence in Azam’s capabilities as a player and emphasized that Azam can achieve great things despite the challenges of captaincy.

Related Articles

Latest Articles