Friday, June 14, 2024

ICC Announces Record-Breaking Prize Money for T20 World Cup Winner

The ICC has announced the largest prize money ever for the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup 2024. This will be the ninth ICC Men’s T20 World Cup, held in nine venues across the West Indies and the USA, ending with the final at Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29. This year’s tournament is the biggest yet, with 20 teams and 55 matches over 28 days.

The winners will get at least $2.45 million from a total prize pool of $11.25 million. The runners-up will receive at least $1.28 million, and each team participating will get at least $225,000. The prize money will be given out as follows: $2.45 million to the winners, $1.28 million to the runners-up, and $787,500 to each losing semi-finalist.

Teams that don’t make it past the Super 8s will get $382,500 each. Teams placed 9th to 12th will get $247,500 each, and teams placed 13th to 20th will get $225,000 each. Additionally, there is a bonus of $31,154 for each match win in the early rounds (not including the semi-finals and final).

The tournament starts with 40 first-round matches. The top eight teams from these matches will move on to the Super 8s. Four teams will then go to the semi-finals, which will be in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice expressed his excitement about the event, highlighting its historic nature and the significant prize money. He said that millions of fans around the world will enjoy watching the players in what should be an outstanding event.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles