Sunday, July 14, 2024

ICC Champions Trophy 2025 Proposed Schedule Revealed

The proposed schedule for the ICC Champions Trophy 2025, set to be hosted by Pakistan, has been unveiled, according to a report by the Telegraph on Sunday. This highly anticipated event will take place from February 19 to March 9, featuring the top eight teams from the previous year’s ODI World Cup.

Host Cities and Match Venues

Karachi, Rawalpindi, and Lahore have been chosen as the host cities for the matches. The tournament will see the teams divided into two groups of four, with the top two teams from each group advancing to the semi-finals. The semi-final matches are scheduled for March 5 in Karachi and March 6 in Rawalpindi, while the final will be held in Lahore on March 9.

Group Stage Breakdown

Group A consists of Pakistan, India, Bangladesh, and New Zealand. Group B includes England, South Africa, Australia, and Afghanistan.

Key Matches and Dates

  • Group A:
    • Pakistan vs New Zealand in Karachi on February 19.
    • India vs Bangladesh in Lahore on February 20.
    • India vs New Zealand in Lahore on February 23.
    • Pakistan vs India in Lahore on March 1, a highly anticipated clash.
  • Group B:
    • England vs Australia in Lahore on February 22.
    • England vs Afghanistan in Lahore on February 25.
    • England vs South Africa in Rawalpindi on March 2.

Other notable matches include:

  • Afghanistan vs South Africa in Karachi on February 21.
  • Australia vs South Africa in Rawalpindi on February 26.
  • Bangladesh vs New Zealand in Lahore on February 27.
  • Afghanistan vs Australia in Rawalpindi on February 28.

Semi-Finals and Final

The semi-finals will take place as follows:

  • March 5: Semi-final 1 in Karachi
  • March 6: Semi-final 2 in Rawalpindi

The final match is scheduled for March 9 in Lahore.

Participating Teams’ Commitments

All member countries have expressed their support for the ICC Champions Trophy. However, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) will make a final decision after consulting with the government.

Significance of the Tournament

This tournament marks the return of the ICC Champions Trophy after an eight-year hiatus. The last Champions Trophy was held in 2017, where Pakistan triumphed over India in the final. The 2025 edition promises to bring thrilling cricket action to fans around the world.

Detailed Match Schedule

  • February 19: New Zealand vs Pakistan – Karachi
  • February 20: Bangladesh vs India – Lahore
  • February 21: Afghanistan vs South Africa – Karachi
  • February 22: Australia vs England – Lahore
  • February 23: New Zealand vs India – Lahore
  • February 24: Pakistan vs Bangladesh – Rawalpindi
  • February 25: Afghanistan vs England – Lahore
  • February 26: Australia vs South Africa – Rawalpindi
  • February 27: Bangladesh vs New Zealand – Lahore
  • February 28: Afghanistan vs Australia – Rawalpindi
  • March 1: Pakistan vs India – Lahore
  • March 2: South Africa vs England – Rawalpindi
  • March 5: Semi-final 1 – Karachi
  • March 6: Semi-final 2 – Rawalpindi
  • March 9: Final – Lahore

The ICC Champions Trophy 2025 is set to be an exciting event, bringing together the best cricket teams in the world for a series of thrilling matches in Pakistan.

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles