Tuesday, June 25, 2024

Pakistan Beats New Zealand in 1st T20l Match

The New Zealand trip to Pakistan, which consists of five T20Is and as many ODIs, promises to provide fans with some exciting international cricket. 

Shaheen Afridi’s return, who will play for the first time in international cricket since the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup Final against England in November 2022, has assisted Pakistan to choose a star-studded T20I side.

The Teams:

Pakistan: Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood, and Zaman Khan.

New Zealand: Tom Latham (c), Chad Bowes, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Adam Milne, Cole McConchie, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Rachin Ravindra, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, and Will Young.

In a T20I series, Pakistan and New Zealand started the match today April 14, 2023 at Lahore Gaddafi Stadium.

Pakistan defeated New Zealand in the opening T20l of the five-match series match by 88 runs. 

Pakistan chose to bat first after winning the toss earlier in the game. Baber Azam and Muhammad Rizwan were the Pakistani teams’ openers. Pakistan got under pressure after losing openers at 30-2. Sami Ayub and Fakhar Zaman put in an excellent¬†performance and recover the loss with a 79-run partnership in 43 balls. In just 34 balls, Fakhar Zaman scored 47 runs, including four fours and two sixes.

For New Zealand, Matt Henry got a hat-trick by knocking out Shadab Khan, and Iftikhar Ahmed Shaheen Shah Afridi.

He is the fourth New Zealand bowler to score a hat-trick in a Twenty20 match.

New Zealand ended up getting  94 runs in 15.3 overs.

As the home team consistently took wickets and kept New Zealand under pressure.

Shaheen Afridi, Faheem Ashraf, Zaman Khan, and Shadab Khan each took one wicket, while Imad Wasim took two. The pick of the bowlers for Pakistan was Haris Rauf, who took 4 wickets of New Zealand and end the match with a victory.

Tom Latham, the captain, added 20 runs, and Mark Chapman dominated with 34 runs.

Related Articles

Latest Articles