Monday, March 4, 2024

Shan Masood Reveals Pakistan’s Batting Order for Australia Tour

Shan Masood, the new Test captain of the Pakistan cricket team, has revealed the team’s batting order strategy for the upcoming tour to Australia.

Masood, in a press conference in Lahore, emphasized the stability of the Test team and highlighted the successful partnership of Imam ul Haq and Abdullah Shafique as the opening batsmen. He mentioned that they have been representing Pakistan for over a year and will continue to do so.

After the retirement of Azhar Ali, Masood stated that he has primarily played at the number three spot in domestic and international cricket, and this top-three batting order is part of their plans.

Masood expressed confidence in the top three positions and outlined the batting sequence. He assured that the team would be built around the exceptional talent of Babar Azam, who will continue to bat at the number four spot. Masood acknowledged Azam as the team’s best batsman and stressed the importance of preserving his batting position.

Masood spoke highly of Saim Ayub, describing him as an exciting prospect with an aggressive approach in domestic cricket. He mentioned that Ayub would get a chance if needed during the tour.

The Pakistan squad for the Australia Tests includes Shan Masood (captain), Aamir Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Khurram Shahzad, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Noman Ali, Saim Ayub, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, and Shaheen Shah Afridi.

The Australia tour schedule consists of a four-day match against PM’s XI from December 6-9 at Manuka Oval, Canberra, followed by three Test matches against Australia on December 14-18 at Perth Stadium, December 26-30 at Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG), and January 3-7 at Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG).

Related Articles

Latest Articles