Friday, May 24, 2024

Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis Receive honorary membership of the Sydney Cricket Ground

Wasim Akram and Waqar Younis, two former Pakistani pacers, were received lifelong honorary memberships at the Sydney Cricket Ground (SCG) in Australia.

The fast bowlers, commonly referred to as the “two Ws,” are currently the only players from Pakistan to be granted membership in one of the most illustrious and storied cricket stadiums.

Legendary cricketers Brian Lara, Sachin Tendulkar, Virat Kohli, and Ravi Shastri have also been granted membership.

Former cricket players and other dignitaries attended a ceremony in Sydney when the announcement was made. Cricketers from the past also spoke about their memories of the sport.

It is important to note that Wasim and Waqar, who played for Pakistan for more than ten years, are regarded as the most destructive duo in cricket history.

During the 1990s, the pacers were renowned for their extreme speed, massive swing, and reverse swing with the old ball, and they helped the nation to many victories with their bowling.

The fast bowlers have claimed 1,705 wickets across all formats, with the Sultan of Swing and the Burewala Express each capturing 916 and 789 international dismissals, respectively.

Both cricket players, as well as 2009 World Cup champion Imran Khan, Javed Miandad, and Abdul Qadir, have been inducted into the ICC Hall of Fame.

Mehjabeen Qasim
Mehjabeen Qasim
Business Journalist at Startup Pakistan

Related Articles

Latest Articles