Wednesday, November 29, 2023

Pakistan’s 18-Member Test Squad Announced for Australia Tour

Chief selector Wahab Riaz has unveiled Pakistan’s 18-member Test squad for the upcoming tour to Australia, marking his inaugural assignment since assuming the role. Shan Masood will lead the team as Test captain, succeeding Babar Azam.

Newcomer Saim Ayub, a left-handed opening batter, earned his spot following a stellar performance in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy 2023-24, amassing 553 runs with three centuries. Khurram Shahzad, a right-arm fast bowler, secured his maiden Test call-up after an impressive domestic season, finishing as the highest wicket-taker in Quaid-e-Azam Trophy.

Faheem Ashraf, a pace bowling all-rounder, returns to the squad after his last Test appearance during England’s tour in late 2022. Additionally, Mir Hamza and Mohammad Wasim Jnr, both fast bowlers, make a comeback after featuring in Pakistan’s squad during New Zealand’s tour in 2022-23.

Chief selector Wahab Riaz emphasized the selection’s focus on addressing the challenges of Australian conditions, augmenting pace bowling resources. The squad assembles in Rawalpindi on November 22 for a training camp before departing on November 30. The selection aims to leverage the team’s success in the ICC World Test Championship and hopes for continued momentum in Australia. The inclusion of promising players like Saim Ayub reflects a strategic approach to bolster the team’s batting lineup, emphasizing adaptability and success in diverse conditions

Pakistan Test Squad against Australia:

  1. Shan Masood (C)
  2. Aamir Jamal
  3. Abdullah Shafique
  4. Abrar Ahmed
  5. Babar Azam
  6. Faheem Ashraf
  7. Hassan Ali
  8. Imam-ul-haq
  9. Khurram Shahzad
  10. Mir Hamza
  11. Muhammad Rizwan (WK)
  12. Muhammad Wasim Jnr
  13. Noman Ali
  14. Saim Ayub
  15. Salman Ali Agha
  16. Sarfaraz Ahmed (WK)
  17. Saud Shakeel
  18. Shaheen Shah Afridi

Related Articles


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

Latest Articles